Access Previous User Account in QuickBooks

Access-Previous-User-Account-in-QuickBooks

In QuickBooks accounting software, you can add or delete user accounts through an admin account. Without administrative credentials, you won’t be able to make these changes. You can also change a user account or set rules for it. Another additional feature is that any modification of a transaction is recorded in the audit trail. Through this, you can check which user made particular changes.

To access previous user account which is inactive currently, follow the steps provided below:

  1. From the Employees tab, click on Show List.
  2. Select All Employees.
  3. Select the name of the deleted employee.
  4. Go to the employee sections, and click on Edit.
  5. After selecting Show in non-payroll lists, click Ok.

Now the inactive employee account will be activated.

Tracking changes to transactions through an audit report is a great way to ensure that your books are well maintained. Changes made to each transaction are recorded. To view the audit trail report, follow the steps provided below:

  1. From the Reports menu, click on Accountant and Taxes.
  2. Click on Audit Trial.
  3. Select Customize Report.
  4. From the display tab, select the date range.
  5. Hit Ok.

To add a new user to QuickBooks accounting software, follow the steps provided below:

  1. Launch QuickBooks and go to Settings.
  2. Click on Manage Users.
  3. Click on Add user.
  4. Select one of these user types:
    1. Accounting firms
    2. Standard User
    3. Company Admin
    4. Master admin
  5. Enter details like username and email address.
  6. Click on Save.

You can also set user limits on an account. These user limits will define the amount of access that user has. These limitations become very important if you’ve a lot of users accessing confidential accounting information through QuickBooks.

Read More: How to Change/Reset QuickBooks Password?

To delete a user account in QuickBooks, follow the steps provided below:

  1. Go to settings.
  2. Click on Manage Users.
  3. Click the small arrow beside a user account.
  4. Click on Delete.
  5. Select Delete on the confirmation message.

The audit login QuickBooks will store data related to all present and past users. Even after deleting a user account, you can find the changes made through it through the audit log.

To know more or for help with accessing previous user accounts, get in touch with our experts @ our LIVE CHAT.