How to Merge Customers in QuickBooks

How to Merge Customers in QuickBooks

In QuickBooks, you can easily add, edit, delete, and merge customers to better organize your data. By storing customer profiles beforehand, you can easily add a customer to the invoice when creating it. In this article, we’ve mentioned the necessary steps to add and merge customers in QuickBooks.

Read More: How to Export Customer List from QuickBooks?

Merge Customers in QuickBooks

In QuickBooks, Intuit has provided all the necessary features to work with customers as a group or individually. Before the steps for merging customers, we’ve mentioned the steps for adding customers and sub-customers, and deleting customers.

Read More: How to Merge QuickBooks Files?

Add a New Customer

To add a customer in QuickBooks, follow the steps provided below:

  1. From the Sales menu, go to the Customers tab.
  2. Click on New Customers.
  3. Enter the required information for the customer.
  4. Click on Save.

Read More: How to Import Customers from Another Program in QuickBooks?

When creating a new customer profile, you can mark the customer as tax exempt.

A customer profile can function as a parent account. Several sub-customers can be created on the basis of the parent customer account. Sub-customers can come in handy when tracking individuals who belong to a particular group or organization. However, before creating a sub-customer, you must create a parent customer profile.

Create a Sub-Customer

To create a sub-customer account, follow the steps provided below:

  1. From the Sales menu, go to the Customers tab.
  2. Click on New Customer.
  3. Mark the Is sub-customer checkbox.
  4. Enter the information for the sub-customer.
  5. Click on the Parent dropdown menu, and select the parent account for the sub-customer.
  6. Click on Save.

Read More: How to Creating and Editing Customers in QuickBooks?

When selecting the parent account for the sub-customer, select either of Bill this customer or Bill with parent to bill the customer individually or along with the whole group respectively. One parent account can handle up to four levels of sub-customers, but you can create an unlimited number of sub-customers for a particular parent account.

If, at any point, you want to make a sub-customer a regular customer, then simply go to the sub-customer profile and unmark the option for Is sub-customer.

Remove a Customer Profile

You can make a customer inactive to remove them from the customer menu. However, all the transactions associated with this customer will still remain in your books and will show up on reports.

To delete a customer, follow the steps provided below:

  1. From the Sales menu, go to the Customers tab.
  2. Select the customer profile which you wish to make inactive.
  3. Click on Edit.
  4. Select Make Inactive.
  5. Confirm the action by selecting Yes.

Read More: How to Creating & Editing Vendors in QuickBooks?

In QuickBooks, all the transactions associated with this customer will contain the keyword deleted against the customer name.

To activate an inactive customer profile, follow the steps provided below:

  1. From the Sales menu, go to the Customers tab.
  2. From the Settings menu, click on Include Inactive checkbox to mark it.
  3. Find the inactive customer profile which you want to reactivate.
  4. Go to the Action column, and click on Make Active.

The customer profile will be reactivated and the deleted keyword will be removed from all the transactions containing that customer.

Merge Customer Profiles

Now we’ve come to the final step of merging customer profiles. You can merge two customer profiles at once. When you merge two customer profiles, behind the scenes, QuickBooks deletes one of the profiles and transfers the data from the deleted one to the one that is retained.

To merge two customers, follow the steps provided below:

  1. Make the sub-customers of the two customers profile as regular customers.
  2. From the Sales menu, go to the Customers tab.
  3. Click on the Customer profile that you want to keep.
  4. Click on Edit.
  5. Enter the name of the Customer that you want to keep in the Display name as field.
  6. Click on Save and confirm the merge by clicking on Yes.

Merge Customers in QuickBooks Desktop

Before you merge two customer profiles, you must make both the profiles parent accounts. To do so, you can simply click on the name of the job and delete the information from the Customer field.

To merge customer profiles in QuickBooks desktop, follow the steps provided below:

  1. Go to the Customers menu.
  2. Right Click on the Customer profile that you want to merge.
  3. Click on Edit Customer.
  4. Replace the name of the customer with the one on the profile which you want to retain.
  5. Hit Ok.
  6. To confirm the process, click on Yes.

This will merge two different custom profiles in one. Just like the online version, QuickBooks desktop will delete one customer profile and transfer that data into the customer profile which is retained.

To know more, you can get in touch with our experts at our LIVE CHAT.

FAQs

Q. How do I change a sub-customer account into a normal customer account?

A. You can open the customer and unmark the option Is sub-customer. This will change the customer account into a normal one. This account can then be made into a parent account as well.

Q. How many sub-customers can I create for one Parent account?

A. An unlimited number of sub-customer accounts can be created for one parent account. However, if you’re talking about levels of sub-customers under a single parent account, then the limit is 4.

Q. When I make a customer account inactive, will it delete all the transactions associated with that account?

A. No. All of the transactions will still be present in QuickBooks, but the delete keyword will be mentioned against the name of the inactive customer. This keyword will be removed from the customer name when you reactivate the customer profile.