How Sage 50 Automatic Backup Scheduler Can Be Done?

If you have been using any accounting software, you would know how important taking a backup of your important data is. Remembering to take a backup and scheduling a convenient time for back up, when no one is using the software, are even more important. This is where the Sage 50 Automatic Backup Scheduler comes to your rescue. If you are yet to use this tool, you are at the right place. Go through this blog. We will tell you how to use the Sage 50 Automatic Backup Scheduler.

How to take back up using the Sage 50 Automatic Backup Scheduler?

Please follow the below-mentioned steps:

  • Open Sage 50
  • Navigate to the File menu
  • Select Automatic Backup
  • Now, you need to specify the company to take back up of. If you have opened the automatic back up from the File menu, the location of the current company is filled in the automatic back up section. But, if you have launched the automatic backup from directly from the Start menu/ desktop, you need to click on Browse and select the folder that contains your company data.
  • Next, you should specify the Save Backup To location.

Please noteYou can specify any location. If you are not having an off-site backup, you must save the back up to another drive, preferably on a different computer. By not having the backup on the computer where your Sage 50 data is kept, you will be protected in case of a theft or hardware failure. If you have an off-site backup, please make sure that your Sage 50 backup, wherever you decide to save it, is included in the off-site backup.

  • Now, fill in your Sage 50 username and password. You may click the Verify User tab to ensure the details are entered correctly.
  • Next, you should specify your back up settings. Here are the settings you may select-
  • You may use the company name in your backup file name(recommended)
  • You may decide for or against including archived companies and attachments into your backup
  • You can select the action to be carried out if a backup bearing the same name exists already. You can specify whether to create a new backup automatically, stop the process or to overwrite the existing backup
  • You should select the option to log out users before starting the backup process. If you do not select this option, the backup will not start if someone is using Sage 50 at the time of the scheduled backup. If you check this box and a user is having Sage 50 open at the time of the scheduled backup, he will be logged out without any warning and he will lose unsaved work, if any. Therefore, you should inform all users not to leave Sage 50 open when they wind up for the day. 
  • After you are done with the settings, click on the Save button
  • You will be asked to give a name to the file that would contain your backup settings
  • Now you are ready to proceed with the actual backup process
  • Click on the Schedule button
  • Choose your preferred schedule. Please make sure to schedule your backup when nobody would be using Sage 50
  • Once completed, click OK
  • The scheduler will prompt you to enter your password. Please note that it will be your Windows/network password, not the Sage 50 password. If you do not have an existing Windows/network password, you need to create one before scheduling your automatic backup.

We hope the sequential steps mentioned above would help you a great deal to take back up of your data using the Sage 50 Automatic Backup Scheduler. If you are still facing any difficulties in carrying out the above-mentioned steps, you may speak to our experts, anytime you want.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Where should I save the sage 50 back up file?

You can specify any location to keep your back up file. However, if you are not having an off-site backup, you must save the back up to another drive, preferably on a different computer. By not having the backup on the computer where your Sage 50 data is kept, you will be protected in case of a theft or hardware failure.

Is it necessary for all the users to log out before starting the backup?

Yes. You should select the option to log out all users before starting the backup process. If you do not select this option, the backup will not start if someone is using Sage 50 at the time of the scheduled backup. If you check this box and a user is having Sage 50 open at the time of the scheduled backup, he will be logged out without any warning and he will lose unsaved work, if any. Therefore, you should inform all users not to leave Sage 50 open when they wind up for the day.